Big fish

Biologists with the Idaho Fish and Game plan to electrofish sections of the South Fork every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from now until May 23 as they conduct a feasibility study on the manual removal of rainbow trout.

Biologists with the Idaho Fish and Game plan to electrofish sections of the South Fork every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from now until May 23 as they conduct a feasibility study on the manual removal of rainbow trout.

“These removal efforts are not aimed at removing all of the rainbows in the river,” Fisheries Manager Brett High said in a news release. “Really, it is an experiment to see what type of effort it requires to manually remove fish, so that we can better evaluate whether removing rainbows from the South Fork using electrofishing is an effective management technique, given limitations on available time and funding.”

The schedule provided will allow anglers to avoid the stretches of river being shocked should they choose to do so.

South Fork Electrofishing Schedule Dates

Thursday, April 25: Palisades Creek to Sheep Creek, Tuesday, April 30: Hwy 26 bridge to Indian Creek, Wednesday, May 1: Palisades Creek to Sheep Creek, Thursday, May 2: Lufkin bottom to Dry Canyon, Tuesday, May 7: Hwy 26 Bridge to Indian Creek, Wednesday, May 8: Palisades Creek to Sheep Creek, Thursday, May 9: Lufkin Bottom to Dry Canyon: Tuesday, May 14, Hwy 26 Bridge to Indian Creek, Wednesday, May 15: Palisades Creek to Sheep Creek, Thursday, May 16: Lufkin bottom to Dry Canyon, Tuesday, May 21: Hwy 26 Bridge to Indian Creek, Wednesday, May 22: Palisades Creek to Sheep Creek and Thursday, May 23: Lufkin Bottom to Dry Canyon.

Comments

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.