teton county courthouse (copy)

Sample ballots will be released later this month at tetoncountyidaho.gov. Early voting begins on Oct. 18 and Election Day is Nov. 2.

Local candidates have filed for seats in this November’s election, which will include races in the cities and school district.

In the Driggs government, three council positions and the mayor’s seat will be on the ballot. Incumbent Hyrum Johnson will run against current council president August Christensen for the mayor’s seat, while Tristan Taylor will run to hold the two-year council seat he was appointed to in 2020. Vancie Turner is running as a write-in candidate for the two-year seat. Three candidates are seeking two four-year terms: incumbent councilman Miles Knowles, former council member Erika Earles, and resident Scott Stuntz. 

In Victor, three candidates have filed for two council seats: Stacy Hulsing will run to retain her seat; 2018 candidate Landon Kaufman is running again; and former county commission and school board hopeful Sue Muncaster will try her hand in a city election. Council president Molly Absolon will not be seeking reelection.

Tetonia will not see an election because none of the seats are contested. Appointed mayor Brent Schindler will hold his position, as will appointed council member Ryan Bonilla. Steven Green has filed as a write-in candidate to serve in the second open council seat. 

Two trustees, representing Zone 3 and 4, will be elected to serve four-year terms on the Teton School District 401 Board of Trustees. Board chair Ben Kearsley is not running for reelection; in Zone 3, a rectangular area that stretches from west Victor to west Driggs, Jeannette Boner and Ray Hinchcliff will face off. Former candidate Kathleen Haar will attempt to unseat Jake Kunz in Zone 4, which encompasses most of Driggs and the westernmost side of the valley.

In the Teton County Fire Protection District, commission chair Jason Letham filed to hold his seat for another four years, but with no opposition there will be no fire district election.  

Look for coverage of each candidate in the Teton Valley News election section on Oct. 6.

Due to the holiday print deadline, an earlier version of this story omitted candidates Miles Knowles and Erika Earles. The TVN would like to apologize for this error.